Laws regarding auto insurance vary from state to state, but CT auto insurance is a requirement. If you are a car owner in Connecticut, follow these guidelines to meet the minimum requirements.
What Kind of Liability Insurance Do You Need?
The minimum limits on liability insurance in Connecticut are as follows:
- $20,000 for bodily injury, per person, per accident
- $40,000 for bodily injury total per accident
- $10,000 for property damage per accident
When you are found liable in an accident and someone has been injured, bodily injury coverage will pay for the injured person’s medical expenses and potential loss of income. This coverage also pays for your legal expenses.
What Kind of Coverage Is Optional?
If you damage someone’s belongings in an accident, property damage coverage will help cover those expenses. Some of the following coverage is optional in CT auto insurance:
- Comprehensive (things not related to traffic accidents, such as theft)
- Collision (accident-related damages to your own car)
- Rental car insurance
- Emergency road service
CT auto insurance is not required to include comprehensive or collision coverage. However, your bank will require them if your car is leased.
Be prepared before you head out on the road. Purchase the correct amount of coverage to avoid costly fees associated with an insurance violation.